Florida-Friendly Landscaping Program

ffl-logo

The Department of Water Resources offers classes and workshops
 to help residents create and maintain Florida-friendly landscapes.  Florida-Friendly Landscaping™ (FFL) means using low-maintenance plants and environmentally sustainable practices. Learn how you can have a beautiful landscape that could save you time, energy and money while protecting our water resources for the future.

Two classes are offered each month at the UF/IFAS Citrus County Extension Classroom,
3650 W. Sovereign Path, Lecanto, FL  34461

Class Details and Registration on Eventbrite

Tuesday, May 11, 2021 2 - 4 pm Create a Florida-Friendly landscape
Thursday, May 20, 2021 6 - 8 pm 9 Florida-Friendly Principles
Tuesday, May 25, 2021 2 - 4 pm 9 Florida-Friendly Principles
Tuesday, June 8, 2021 2 - 4 pm Lawns in Central Florida
Tuesday, June 22, 2021 2 - 4 pm Florida-Friendly Fertilizing
Tuesday, July 13, 2021 2 - 4 pm Managing Pests Wisely
Thursday, July 22, 2021 6 - 8 pm Right Plant, Right Place
Tuesday, July 27, 2021 2 - 4 pm Create a Florida-Friendly landscape
Wednesday, August 4, 2021 1 - 4 pm Irrigation 101
Tuesday, August 10, 2021 2 - 4 pm Optimizing Irrigation Systems
Tuesday, August 24, 2021 2 - 4 pm 9 Florida-Friendly Principles
Sunday, November 7, 2021 2 - 4 pm Lawns in Central Florida
Sunday, November 21, 2021 2 - 4 pm Florida-Friendly Fertilizing
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 2 - 4 pm Right Plant, Right Place
Thursday, October 14, 2021 6 - 8 pm Create a Florida-Friendly Landscape
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 2 - 4 pm Create a Florida-Friendly Landscape
Tuesday, November 2, 2021 2 - 4 pm Managing Pests Wisely
Tuesday, November 16, 2021 2 - 4 pm 9 Florida-Friendly Principles
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 2 - 4 pm Soils in Florida Landscapes
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 2 - 4 pm Invasive Plants & Pests


Videos
Watch informative videos on fertilizing, air potato vines, irrigation controllers, and more.

videos


Plant Database

Identify the Florida-friendly plants, including Florida native plants, that will work in your yard or landscape design. The plants included in this database are available at nurseries throughout Florida.

fyn plant section

Contact

FFL Program Coordinator:
Steven Davis
steven.davis@citrusbocc.com

Location:

Citrus County Florida Yards & Neighborhoods
3600 W. Sovereign Path, Suite 202
Lecanto, FL 34461
Phone: (352)-527-5708
FAX: (352)-527-5429

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday | 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Directions