Florida-Friendly Landscaping Program

ffl-logo

The Department of Water Resources offers classes and workshops
 to help residents create and maintain Florida-friendly landscapes.  Florida-Friendly Landscaping™ (FFL) means using low-maintenance plants and environmentally sustainable practices. Learn how you can have a beautiful landscape that could save you time, energy and money while protecting our water resources for the future.

Two classes are offered each month at the UF/IFAS Citrus County Extension Classroom,
3650 W. Sovereign Path, Lecanto, FL  34461

Class Details and Registration on Eventbrite

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

2-4 pm

Create a Florida Friendly Landscape

Thursday, May 14, 2020

6-8 pm

Optimizing Irrigation Systems

Tuesday, May 19, 2020

2-4 pm

9 FFL Principles

Tuesday, June 9, 2020

2-4 pm

Turfgrass Management

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

2-4 pm

Florida Friendly Fertilizing

Tuesday, July 7, 2020

2-4 pm

Managing Pest Wisely

Thursday, July 16, 2020

6-8 pm

Right Plant Right Place

Tuesday, July 21, 2020

2-4 pm

Create a Florida Friendly Landscape

Tuesday, August 4, 2020

2-4 pm

Optimizing Irrigation Systems

Tuesday, August 18, 2020

2-4 pm

9 FFL Principles

Tuesday, September 8, 2020

2-4 pm

Turfgrass Management

Tuesday, September 22, 2020

2-4 pm

Florida Friendly Fertilizing

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

2-4 pm

Right Plant Right Place

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

2-4 pm

Create a Florida Friendly Landscape

Thursday, October 1, 2020

6-8 pm

Create a Florida Friendly Landscape

Tuesday, November 3, 2020

2-4 pm

Managing Pest Wisely

Tuesday, November 17, 2020

2-4 pm

9 FFL Principles

Tuesday, December 8, 2020

2-4 pm

Soils in Florida Landscapes

Tuesday, December 22, 2020

2-4 pm

Invasive Plants and Pests




videos

Videos

Watch informative videos on fertilizing, air potato vines, irrigation controllers, and more.

wtw2

Wait To Water

During the summer months of June through September, yards need no more than 1/2" - 3/4" of water per application. If your lawn has received enough water from rainfall, then you can turn off your irrigation system and turn it back on when needed.

ff-plant-database

Plant Database

Identify the Florida-friendly plants, including Florida native plants, that will work in your yard or landscape design. The plants included in this database are available at nurseries throughout Florida.

Contact

FFL Program Coordinator:
Steven Davis
steven.davis@citrusbocc.com

Location:

Citrus County Florida Yards & Neighborhoods
3600 W. Sovereign Path, Suite 202
Lecanto, FL 34461
Phone: (352)-527-5708
FAX: (352)-527-5429

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday | 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Directions